Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Reviews Rider reviews about motorcycles, parts, gear, accessories, places

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By curve addict
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Mar 13th 2021, 05:19 PM   #1
 curve addict's Avatar
 
  Apr 2016
  Des Moines, WA

  ...1987 Yamaha FZR1000...
Shinko Podium 006 tires

Howdy,

Just to be clear, I'm a huge fan of the Michelin Pilot Road series. I have ridden on a number of brands and styles over the years; the Pilot Roads are my go-to favorite for the kind of riding I do. That said, Michelins are expensive and finding them in my, oddball rear size (160/60-18) is getting more difficult. I found Shinkos available in 170/60-18. I'd had good luck with Shinkos on my little 'tard, so I decided to give them a try.

Just got back from my second, 200+ mile ride on these tires. Here's what I think so far:

The Shinkos' cold grip is not as good as I'm used to. The first clue was when I washed out the front on a turn that I'd taken many times before (near my house), at that speed, in equally cold and often wetter conditions. Michelin wins cold grip hands down. Repaired the bike. Got back on the road.

Warm grip feels good. My confidence returned.

Right away, I noticed that turn-ins became noticeably much easier. Part of that is likely because of the slightly taller overall profile of the wider tire (ever so slightly steeper steering head angle). It was such a change from the Pilot Road that I researched other people's reviews to confirm. Surprisingly easy turn-in is commonly reported.

Something else I noticed, on this particular bike at least, was the very neutral way these tires held the line. Once leaned over, it took a little pressure on the bar to stand it up again. The bike seems happy to hold a lean indefinitely. At least one other reviewer, on a GSXR, reported the same thing. I have not done any meaningful trail braking yet. I didn't think of it 'till just now. This particular bike wants to stand up when trail braking with Pilot Roads. I'm thinking it won't stand up as strongly with these; I'll find out.

I'll update this thread as I learn more. I'm curious to see how they handle the rain and how many miles I log before the wear bars start to show.
A2B likes this.
Mar 13th 2021, 05:44 PM   #2
 FeralRdr's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  The Rider's Seat

Wait! You actually got out and rode?!

Details Dave. Details.
Mar 13th 2021, 07:57 PM   #3
 galenernest's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Beijing

  Honda CBF190R and Shineray X6
Hey Dave! Thanks for the write-up. I guess the big question is: will you buy another set when this one wears out?

Greg... you have a new riding buddy, I hear :P
Mar 14th 2021, 12:09 PM   #4
 FeralRdr's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  The Rider's Seat

Yeah, but unfortunately he couldn't ride this past weekend, while the weather was good. Thinking of heading out to Klick' on the next stretch of good weather. Hopefully Bob and John can go with us, and maybe Patty too.

Hope you can make it home this year. If the situation permits, I'll plan a Galenpalooza Trip.

Oh and Dave? Forgot to mention; get some tire heaters. That'll solve that cold tire issue.

Edited by FeralRdr on Mar 14th 2021 at 12:12 PM
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Tags
shinko, sportbike, street_test, tires



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Shinko E-705 Dual Sport Tires FireDave Classifieds 2 Aug 6th 2017 04:34 PM
FREE: Shinko 180/55/17 rear revrdmark Classifieds 0 May 16th 2017 09:57 AM
Out Breaking In Tires KRUKOV Bellingham 14 May 29th 2016 08:26 AM
New tires kromlec Kitsap 5 Apr 26th 2016 11:17 AM
So, what tires and oil should I use? pjd Motorcycles 16 Jan 28th 2016 10:42 AM




Copyright © 2021 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.