Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Reviews Rider reviews about motorcycles, parts, gear, accessories, places

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Mar 1st 2016, 11:01 PM   #1
 Pigs's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Portland

  bicicleta
Road Hawk Cycle: Best Place For Used Parts

They are located in SE Portland and have dealt with them many times. Last night on my way to class my clutch cable broke. I brought the clutch cable today down to road hawk cycle and they were able to find almost an exact same one from their huge pile of clutch cables.
Pros:
  • crates and crates of every motorcycle part imaginable
  • pretty organized
  • if Matt(the owner) doesn't have the part, he always knows someone who could help
Cons:
  • dirty, bought a brake reservoir from there and it was covered in grime and old brake fluid.
  • prices feel made up on the spot, but never anything unreasonable
  • far from cozy, often get a cold shoulder feeling from them(but what else do you expect from a salvage yard)
I have used their service department before, wouldn't bring anything you wouldn't mind getting a scratch in. Great for simple stuff. I live within walking distance which is convenient because I don't have any other vehicles so I could push my bike down there for when I needed to get a broken bolt out of my frame, or whenever I need tire changes.

I have heard many many bad things about them like they steal money and all they sell is crap. First off, I don't know why you are bringing a bike for service at a salvage yard. I wouldn't want to be bringing a shiny bike there. When I have had them work on my bike(such as when I bent my wheel) They had called me several times telling me on how things were going and asked how far I wanted them to go with the rim. They even searched ebay first for a replacement rim to see if it would have been cheaper to just get a used rim.

So maybe they changed since all the horrible reviews were written or that I haven't experienced the dark side of them yet. For all I know, I am going to keep going back.
Mar 1st 2016, 11:33 PM   #2
 FeralRdr's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Portland

  ︵︶︵︶︵︶︵︶︵︶︵︶
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigs View Post
.....

I have heard many many bad things about them like they steal money and all they sell is crap.

So have we.

PNWRiders: Anyone been to Road Hawk Cycle before?

and

PNWRiders: Road Hawk Cycle in Portland

First off, I don't know why you are bringing a bike for service at a salvage yard.

I don't know either, but maybe you could tell us why you did.

I wouldn't want to be bringing a shiny bike there.

Why then would you want to bring a dirty bike?

...

So maybe they changed since all the horrible reviews were written

Not likely.

or that I haven't experienced the dark side of them yet. For all I know, I am going to keep going back.

I'd buy a lottery ticket before your luck runs out.
Caveat Emptor!
Mar 2nd 2016, 10:28 AM   #3
 oldmanriver's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Battle Ground

  1991 Honda CBR1000F
I have been there twice, got screwed twice, will not go back.
Jun 27th 2016, 11:04 PM   #4
 
  Jun 2016
  Vancouver, WA

I went there to pick up a replacement carb for my 76 cb750a. They had one in stock. When I asked for intake boots (im using silicon hoses) they handed me random cb750k/f boots when I told him they wouldnt fit he pressed the intake side onto the carbs.. said sure they do. when I told him they were on backwards and would leak. His wife spoke up and said they do it all the time... I ended getting a larger set of carbs that would work on any sohc cb750. They have decent parts but the owner is unethical. Ill still buy from them but you better know your stuff or you'll walk out with crap.
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best place to purchase Ohlins shock spring Flyboymedic Mechanical and Technical 3 Aug 15th 2016 10:02 PM
Bike Night: Cycle Gear Lynnwood PeteN95 Seattle 1 Jul 27th 2016 09:13 PM
Welp, there goes my fav place for ethanol free gas. Bill98579 Olympia 12 May 3rd 2016 08:02 AM
Cycle Gear to buy out Revzilla Thumperpilot Motorcycles 12 Feb 6th 2016 10:50 AM
Am I in the right place? Pigs New Users 11 Jan 21st 2016 12:32 PM




Copyright © 2017 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.