Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Reviews Rider reviews about motorcycles, parts, gear, accessories, places

Like Tree5Likes
  • 4 Post By paradox206
  • 1 Post By Cougar
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Jul 22nd 2016, 12:00 PM   #1
 paradox206's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Des Moines

  M1200s, VFR800 & GSXR750
Racer R-Safe Gloves

After a year of wearing gloves that just weren't that comfortable, I decided to take a look on WebBikeWorld to find some gloves that they recommended. I came across the R-Safe glove review and was very impressed by what they had to say. The gloves had everything I wanted and received their top safety mark of approval....sold!

I didn't give them much of a chance to break in before they went straight to track duty. In my opinion, the best gloves you can have while riding offer maximum protection and you don't think about them while you're riding. Well, I haven't had a chance to test the protection (thankfully), but I can tell you that I didn't think about them once during my track day. My previous gloves caused my thumb to go numb by the end of every session...it was night and day with the R-Safes!

A couple months, a few track days and a lot of commuting later, Iím still loving these gloves. Like Lee said (the man in charge of Racer USA), just wait until they break in! Well, he was right. The gloves were comfortable before, but now theyíre like one with me when I have them on. Also, I donít know what it is about their design, but Iím able to get them on and off faster than any previous glove Iíve owned. Lastly, the insides of themÖtheyíre just so smooth! My last two pair of Dainese Carbon Covers feel like sand paper compared to these and thatís after a year+ of riding in them. OKÖI liedÖone more thing; how the knuckles arenít attached to the piece of leather on the top of the hand is excellent. You donít get the feeling that your knuckles are smashed against the knuckle protector like so many other gloves, which is something I encountered with my Dainese and Revit gloves, even when I went with a larger size.

Last but not least, the service. After ordering my gloves, Lee gave me a call to chat about the gloves (sizing/use). We went over my hand measurements, why I picked the ones I did (there are three race gloves options) and if I really needed expedited shipping (since theyíre in California ground would have been cheaper for a 3-day deliver window, but I actually needed them in two or lessÖjust wanted to save me money, if possible). Then Lee and I chatted about track days, what Iím riding and how I liked The Ridge (since he was going to be there in a couple weeks). After my track day, Lee emailed me to see how it went and how the gloves felt. Heís just so genuinely nice!

Iím already trying to decide which one of their Gore-Tex gloves Iím going to buy for this winterÖ


Motorcycle Gloves for Racing and Road-R-Safe Glove -Racer Gloves USA
Racer R-Safe Gloves Review - webBikeWorld
Jul 22nd 2016, 01:20 PM   #2
 Cougar's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Richland

  Yamaha FZ1, Ducati 1198S, Yamaha FJR, Yamaha XS650
I just don't think that I could ever justify $260 for gloves.
wooden likes this.
Jul 22nd 2016, 03:39 PM   #3
 Nathan's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  space needle

^how much did you spend on your helmet?

love the high speed ones I have but I had to send first pair back due to right side stitching not being right and was uncomfortable to wear
Jul 22nd 2016, 05:58 PM   #4
 
  May 2016
  Port Orchard, WA

  R1200RT, DR650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougar
I just don't think that I could ever justify $260 for gloves.
I thought that as well, having only spent maybe 50-60 bucks per pair in the past, until I finally gave in and spent $220 of Revzilla giftcard money on some Rukka Ceres Gore-Tex gloves.

They're amazing, perfect fit, no pressure points or anything. They feel perfectly broken in, right out of the box. They're warm without making your hands sweat, they're completely waterproof, A+ would buy again. I guess sometimes you really do get what you pay for.

I guess I kinda sound like I'm shilling for Rukka, but I don't mean it that way. I'm just saying great gloves are actually worth a bit of a premium IMHO.
Jul 24th 2016, 03:12 PM   #5
 paradox206's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Des Moines

  M1200s, VFR800 & GSXR750
For almost all of us, our income is dependent on our hands. I look at $260 for glove as a insurance policy for my hands. Now, not everyone can afford $260 for gloves...totally understandable. For me, I was spending about $180 every two years on gloves, so I decided to drop a little more cash in the hopes that I can get four years out of my next gloves (spring/summer/fall commuting and the track). With these, I believe I will.
Jul 26th 2016, 10:13 AM   #6
 wooden's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  PDX

  '14 St3R, '05 DR650
$90 on Sedici gloves once, currently on the third lifetime-warranty replaced pair.

To be honest, I'd like nicer gloves, but I can't justify it when I know I can get a brand new pair of these gloves for free every riding season. My current pair has a few seams slowly opening up and the velcro is starting to come undone from the wrist straps, but they're still fully functional.

Those look like great gloves, though. It's simply hard to get out of this cycle of warranty replacements every 8-12 months.
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Tags
gloves, racer, rsafe



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FREE: Fuel safe water bottle O-rings no splat matt Classifieds 2 Sep 13th 2016 09:31 AM
Racer practice day at The Ridge, pre-WMRRA race weekend Highlander Motorsports Track 0 May 20th 2016 04:16 PM
Just when you thought you were safe... AwwSeriously Vancouver 4 May 5th 2016 07:29 PM
Riding gloves for women Ducrider Mechanical and Technical 4 May 4th 2016 06:26 AM
Want To Buy: Summer short gloves bcj Want To Buy 2 Apr 19th 2016 01:34 PM




Copyright © 2017 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.