Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Reviews Rider reviews about motorcycles, parts, gear, accessories, places

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By FidalgoRob
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Apr 1st 2019, 06:03 PM   #1
 Sentinel's Avatar
 
  Jun 2016
  Poor Tortured

  2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Harlequin
New GPS Recommendation?

So this is a review RFP?

I am looking for a new moto GPS and there are a thousand choices.

I figured someone here might have a gps and a thought about what's good or bad with it.

Anyone?

Buehler?

LOLTHX
Apr 2nd 2019, 07:37 PM   #2
A2B
 A2B's Avatar
 
  Jan 2019
  Methow Valley

  ATK Rotax, Buell xb12ss, CL160
Yup, thousands. I've been using a Garmin Montana 680 for a couple years and have not been disappointed. It handles both street and dual sport trips with a simple switch between maps. Garmin has a nice bar mount and if I keep my visor open I can hear turn by turn commands when in town or at slower speeds. It's durable enough to throw in a backpack for hiking and it runs on both factory battery pack or off the shelf AA batteries. Plus it has a camera that tags the gps locations on all your photos. Good hunting!
Apr 3rd 2019, 04:37 PM   #3
 Flyboymedic's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Hazel Dell, Wa

  Honda VFR800, Husqvarna TE 610, Ducati Hypermotard 1100S, Suzuki VStrom 650, Yamaha Radian, MZ 125SM
Pretty simple- your smartphone.
Apr 3rd 2019, 06:25 PM   #4
 Sentinel's Avatar
 
  Jun 2016
  Poor Tortured

  2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Harlequin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyboymedic
Pretty simple- your smartphone.
until im out of cell range with no map.

i thought of that.
Apr 3rd 2019, 07:44 PM   #5
 Flyboymedic's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Hazel Dell, Wa

  Honda VFR800, Husqvarna TE 610, Ducati Hypermotard 1100S, Suzuki VStrom 650, Yamaha Radian, MZ 125SM

Facepalm.
Sigh.....
Apr 3rd 2019, 08:39 PM   #6
 
  Jan 2016
  Gig Harbor

  BMW F650GS / BMW R12R
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sentinel
until im out of cell range with no map.

i thought of that.
Here Maps are downloadable to the phone, so the only cellular data you need is for traffic updates (if you want them). Otherwise, no data service is needed, just the standard civilian GPS signal. Free maps are available for all U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and lots of other countries. Works well, and you can set the navigation voice to use a very sophisticated British accent.
Oregon Motorcycle likes this.
Apr 4th 2019, 02:54 AM   #7
 Mudslinger's Avatar
 
  Sep 2016
  Seabeck

  Africa Twin
The Garmin Zumo seems like a popular choice. I don't know if it will fit on that little new bike of yours.
A cell phone with "maps.me" works surprisingly well. It's FREE. The maps are downloaded and updated when you have online availability but you can use it offline. I use an old Garmin 885t that I had laying around for a couple years. So maybe check craigslist for a older model.

Edited by Mudslinger on Apr 4th 2019 at 03:00 AM
May 19th 2019, 01:45 PM   #8
 FeralRdr's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  The Rider's Seat

Both a ZUMO 550 and 660 have fit fine on mine.



Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Tags
gps, recommendation



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Welder Recommendation MikeMikeMike Seattle 2 May 26th 2018 08:50 AM
Tire change recommendation! DJ LARS Portland 2 Jul 11th 2017 09:51 AM
Tahuya Staging Area Recommendation Rodeojones Seattle 11 May 9th 2016 10:49 AM
Trailer Recommendation and Advice Rodeojones Mechanical and Technical 15 Apr 6th 2016 06:08 AM
Local mechanic recommendation? BoseMensch Spokane 5 Apr 5th 2016 10:49 AM




Copyright © 2019 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.