Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Reviews Rider reviews about motorcycles, parts, gear, accessories, places

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Apr 21st 2017, 07:36 AM   #1
 Naza's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Rent'n

  2002 Honda RC51, 2005 Honda RC51
New Action Cam - Hot off the presses

Some of you might remember last year I started a thread on "best" or recommended action cam.

Not much of a review as much as a "Hey check this out!"

After a year of research, this is the one I picked up this week after a couple of months of backorder (read as being manufactured). I am totally stoked! This is brand new from SJCAM for $200. With my Amazon gift cards saved up from b-days and xmas, I got this bad boy for $19.

It has metal case and measures 20.5 x 58 x 41mm and is 78.6 grams and all the bells and whistles.



Read more here or even search for reviews on YouTube.
SJCAM SJ7 Star Native 4K Action Camera ? SJCAM Official Website

Cheers!
Apr 21st 2017, 09:04 AM   #2
 elSueco's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Seattle

  ZX14 Barking Spider
That looks pretty good. Please post up videos and a review once you have a feel for it.
Apr 21st 2017, 01:41 PM   #3
 Naza's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Rent'n

  2002 Honda RC51, 2005 Honda RC51
Ok, did a few runs around SR900 and May Valley road today to fine tune the adjustments. Here is a very short and simple example of the camera in action.

1080p 60FPS

To appreciate the RAW uncompressed video. Download it here (about 300 MB):

https://onedrive.live.com/download?c...Ap2zwWbWrqjz2E

Here is a link to stream from OneDrive (it gets pixely)
https://onedrive.live.com/embed?cid=...Ap2zwWbWrqjz2E
Apr 24th 2017, 09:33 AM   #4
 elSueco's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Seattle

  ZX14 Barking Spider
Thanks for the vid, Naza. My favorite metro area ride too!

I notice that the file says 60fps, but Windoze is reporting 30fps. Did you process this video at all, or is it straight off the camera? Were you using the gyro stabilization? I was expecting sharper freeze frames off of a 4k capable, helmet mounted camera.
Apr 24th 2017, 10:22 AM   #5
 Naza's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Rent'n

  2002 Honda RC51, 2005 Honda RC51
Aww man, you are correct. I am seriously a total noob at this kind of stuff. I used Windows Movie Maker to trim the video time to be something downloadable and I guess it dumbed it down to 30fps.

I need to research better video editing software.

I did not take any 4K video yet. It does 4K at 30FPS, but in the current firmware version the gyro is not working in this setting

here is another plane Jane unedited RAW off the camera video 1080p 60FPS with in camera gyro on. Actually this is the next blob on the card after the previous video posted in this thread, so not much excitement (and as we all know...its been a shit storm of rain to not be able to get back out)

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Au44E4cmeovkiPE4s1yTB7rclcf3EA

Thanx
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Tags
action, cam, hot, presses



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Event: CALL TO ACTION! Motorcycle Rider Protest at the Capitol - Friday 3/17 11am Diva Seattle 14 Mar 19th 2017 09:02 PM




Copyright © 2019 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.