Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Reviews Rider reviews about motorcycles, parts, gear, accessories, places

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Feb 20th 2016, 11:03 PM   #1
 Thumperpilot's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Rome

  SV650S, CRF450R, and others
Dainese Zen Jacket

At the time I bought my Dainese Zen Pella coat, I didn't have funds for rain season and dry season gear, so I went with the full vented coat and a Frogtog rain shell to cover it. I have worn it in 103 degree weather multiple times and it was hot but not unbearable as it breathes INCREDIBLY for a leather coat (though it is better with a wet vest). The body and arms are full perforations. I find I leave the arms open at the base and my gloves tucked inside the sleeves so air will blow up the arms as well.
The back has a pocket for an optional wave 2 back protector in add-on to the stock CE elbow and shoulder protection. All in all the armor feels substantial.

The cons: the zipper pulls suck. They are not YKK Carhart sized pulls (which could scratch the paint I suppose). I have replaced most of them with key chain rings. I think there's probably something better out there but this fix works and I can grab them easier with gloves on than the original pulls.

Another downfall is that the liner isn't adequate for our cool weather it rides high and cold air seems to come under the bottom edge. I switched it out to a Revit wind-proof liner, and it is noticeably warmer and worth the money.

Overall, I've road tested the coat for 8 years and 25+ thousand miles and I'd buy it again.
Feb 21st 2016, 11:11 AM   #2
 DocB's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Poulsbo, WA

  Aprilia RSV Mille, CBR600F, CB77
I have a black Zen Pelle Estivo jacket of about the same vintage. Love it, favorite jacket by far. But I have a different experience regarding temperatures - found it way too hot sitting in sunny summer traffic jams and switch to a mesh jacket when it gets into the 70s. The Zen with the liner zipped works well for me in the cold. With an Icebreaker wool base layer under it, it works well down into the low 40s. Most riding is commuting at 60 mph max (sportbike fairing) and I am seldom on the road for more than 30 minutes at a stretch. I could imagine it getting chilly on a longer ride.

Got the jacket used for a great price and it was missing a pull or two. Got a set of zipper pulls with long soft leather tabs that are easy to grab with gloves from ebay. Waxing the zippers every once in a while really helps, and Nikwax on the leather seems to help keep the drizzle from soaking in. The soft parts of the elbow and shoulder armor were folded over and creased. I changed the elbow armor to Forcefield Net level 2 stuff, added Forcefield level 2 back armor and recently changed out the type E shoulder armor to type F. The armor changes made the jacket more comfortable for me.
Feb 22nd 2016, 12:10 AM   #3
 Thumperpilot's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Rome

  SV650S, CRF450R, and others
Hot?

Ahh, there is your problem. I don't commute and I don't sit in traffic.


And waterproofing the leather would do exactly nada. It's fully perforated (lots and lots of tiny little holes).
Feb 22nd 2016, 04:13 PM   #4
 DocB's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Poulsbo, WA

  Aprilia RSV Mille, CBR600F, CB77
If I could figure out a way to get to work that didn't force me to sit I would do it in a heartbeat! Around here people have celebrated a couple of birthdays at a single stop light. The Nikwax helps when I get caught out in the little showers. Keeps it from getting saturated with drizzle (between the holes, at least).
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles > Reviews

Tags
dainese, jacket, zen



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Corazzo 5.0 XL Motorcycle jacket Scooter Jacket Halbie Classifieds 0 Sep 1st 2016 10:49 AM
For Sale: Dainese Street Biker Air - Size 11 HarlequinForest Classifieds 0 Jul 3rd 2016 12:17 AM
For Sale: Fieldsheer jacket bluestinger Classifieds 0 Jun 10th 2016 12:48 PM
For Sale: Winter jacket RamboRemo Classifieds 1 May 25th 2016 12:48 PM
For Sale: Dainese Laguna Seca Pro Suit - Size 54 pnw ducrider Classifieds 1 May 4th 2016 10:11 PM




Copyright © 2017 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.