Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles

Motorcycles For topics and discussions about all motorcycle makes and models

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Jan 7th 2018, 03:32 PM   #16
 MMcN49's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Small Island Surrounded by Puget Sound

  07 Buell XB12STT, (Two) 12 Suzuki DR650 SE 72BMWR75/5 KIA @ 243K
I have a fairly large head. In 1970 a Bell XL fit perfectly. Since then they've put more padding/foam in the shells without increasing the shell size. Today most helmets no longer fit.

AFX makes a Magnus Helmet. They actually increased the shell size before adding more foam/padding. The Magnus XXXXL fits perfectly. I've tried 4&5XL in other brands but AFX Magnus is the only one I've found with a physically larger shell that fits and is comfortable.

They are cheap helmets. I can buy a Magnus on Amazon for $101. Though cheap they meet DOT and EU standards. For a hundred bucks I would not ride with an old helmet.
Jan 10th 2018, 08:50 AM   #17
 
  Nov 2017
  Vancouver, WA

  2006 GSXR-1000
Interesting mix of opinions here. Thanks for the feedback!

I went and dropped $800 on a new Shoei (also ordered the transitions face shield with it)

Why? Because my head is more than worth it lol!
liberpolly and Chrishil54 like this.
Jan 11th 2018, 09:54 AM   #18
 Skiffman's Avatar
 
  Apr 2016
  Kitsap

  Yamaha Venture --Victory Octane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicegy525
shield with it)

Why? Because my head is more than worth it lol!
Best decision possible! Congrats on putting your safety first. I love Shoei helmets as they are the only high end helmet that fit my weird shaped head.
Jan 11th 2018, 01:51 PM   #19
 Bald Guy's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Kennewick

  KTM SAR Husqvarna Strada, Ural Patrol and a shit load of BN125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sentinel

But a helmet is more than a crash protector.

It is a windshield/airfoil, a sound isolation booth, a conspicuous marker of our presence, a comms device housing, and a fashion accessory.

Reasons to have a new/nice one are easy to come up with.
All that, plus there is nothing like that New Helmet Smell!
Jan 11th 2018, 02:05 PM   #20
 Sentinel's Avatar
 
  Jun 2016
  Poor Tortured

  2015 Kawasaki Concours 14 - The Origame Sea-Dragon
and now - don't drop it in the parking lot.

Damn I hate that sound: "BAP!...bip...bip. wobble wobble wobble....."
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles

Tags
helmet, opinions



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could this be your next helmet? Willow Motorcycles 16 Dec 8th 2017 08:01 AM
Considering this bike. Opinions? Sentinel Motorcycles 8 Jun 7th 2017 10:28 AM
Helmet age CRUX Tacoma-Puyallup 10 Aug 3rd 2016 09:35 PM
Dirt Bike Safety Training...reviews/opinions? Dr_E Adventure Riding 24 May 22nd 2016 05:41 PM
Looking for some opinions on how to finish a flip project Pavement Tested Motorcycles 51 Apr 24th 2016 10:54 PM




Copyright © 2018 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.