Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles

Motorcycles For topics and discussions about all motorcycle makes and models

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Jan 4th 2018, 04:31 PM   #1
 
  Nov 2017
  Vancouver, WA

  2006 GSXR-1000
helmet opinions

No this is not a "what is the best helmet" thread

I am getting back into riding after a 7 year absence. Going through all my gear, Ive checked everything off I need (leathers, boots, gloves) except my helmet.

I still have my Scorpion EXO-1000 helmet that was never dropped or wrecked. But I bought it in 2008 and it has been sitting in my closet since 2011.

Would you use it? Or would you buy something newer?
Jan 4th 2018, 04:38 PM   #2
 Chrishil54's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Kirkland

  2009 V-Star 1100 Custom
I'd buy something newer.
Jan 4th 2018, 04:43 PM   #3
 Bald Guy's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Kennewick

  KTM SAR Husqvarna Strada, Ural Patrol and a shit load of BN125
Just don't crash while you are wearing it. You'll be fine.


Seriously, get a new lid. A couple hundred bucks, newer, better materials, and you know it is good, no question.

Dusty
Mudslinger likes this.
Jan 4th 2018, 04:43 PM   #4
 ZXtasy's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Moses Lake, WA

  2013 Kawasaki Concours C-14, 2005 ZX-10R Kawasaki (Nekkid), '99 Yamaha TW-200
Use it...not exposed to UV or gas fumes. If you like it and it still fits and has the features you like.
Jan 4th 2018, 05:00 PM   #5
 TedR's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Ferndale, WA

  Big-Block Dinosaurs
I would definitely advocate for a new helmet.
I retired a mint-condition Arai RX-7 Corsair Haga that I just loved, due to it's age.
Not an easy decision, but a necessary one.

As for choice, IMHO the single most important factor is proper fit.
It's kinda like shoes: all the manufacturers have a slightly different head shape they build to, so find the one that correctly fits YOUR head shape.

It'll likely feel pretty snug right out of the box, but it will break in.
If it feels 'just right' when new...it might be a bit too big.

Just my $.02.
Good Luck.
Jan 4th 2018, 05:59 PM   #6
 WarpShatner7's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Here

Looks like that helmet has a removable washable liner. So if there's a chance you might wear it for a while, remove that lining and wash it if it's been sitting that long. This is the PNW, mold spores get everywhere even if you don't see anything and respiratory ailments are not your friend. While the lining is out wipe out the entire interior with some mild cleaning wipes. Preferably make your own using a very dilute solution of mild unscented soap and maybe a splash of alcohol.
Jan 4th 2018, 06:24 PM   #7
 Mudslinger's Avatar
 
  Sep 2016
  Seabeck

  Africa Twin
I'd get a new one. That foam is going to break down over time and become brittle and not absorb the impact forces like it used too. Or just don't crash.
Hachi likes this.
Jan 4th 2018, 08:41 PM   #8
 DocB's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Poulsbo, WA

  Aprilia RSV Mille, CB77 (AMA Nat'l landspeed record holder), CB750K, CB750F
I'm not sure about this, but I get the impression that the closed cell styrofoam in the shell doesn't really break down very fast. It seems to be pretty resistant to anything short of UV radiation and some hydrocarbons. What seems to wear out is the soft urethane foam in the fabric liner. So maybe at least replace the liner. I've done that on a couple of helmets after a season of washing and wearing and the improvement in fit and comfort was pretty obvious.
Jan 5th 2018, 08:52 AM   #9
 unicykle's Avatar
 
  Sep 2017
  milwaukie oregon

  gsxr600 gsxr750 gsxr1000 i like gsxrs
Wear it if its in usable working condition and save during this limited riding season were in now and get a quality arai or shoei for this comimg summer.
Jan 5th 2018, 10:24 AM   #10
 liberpolly's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Seattle

  Ducati Diavel, Aprilia Scarabeo
https://www.motorcyclistonline.com/h...f-life-answers
chadams66 likes this.
Jan 5th 2018, 03:09 PM   #11
 Greg's Avatar
 
  Apr 2016
  PDX

  2014 675R, 2015 Versys LT
I'd buy a new one. Plenty of good closeout helmets for $250 and under.

Not sure if you can get replacement visors for something that old which might be reason enough.

Sent via SM-G930P
Jan 5th 2018, 09:23 PM   #12
 galenernest's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Beijing

  Honda CBF190R
If I were on a tight budget, I'd feel alright using that helmet for a season. But, you can pick up a better helmet than that one for a couple hundred. I bought my AGV K3 from Cycle Gear for around $200, and it's a better "cheap" helmet than the Scorpion.
Jan 6th 2018, 09:12 AM   #13
 Sentinel's Avatar
 
  Jun 2016
  Poor Tortured

  2015 Kawasaki Concours 14 - The Origame Sea-Dragon
stick with Scorpion.
best bang-for-buck for sure.
get a new one.
why not?

https://www.webbikeworld.com/motorcycle-helmet-reviews/
Jan 6th 2018, 10:48 AM   #14
 Parilla125's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  SeaTac

I would use it until it started showing wear or signs of breaking down. But that is me.
Perfect scenario? We have full body encasing that instantly pops up in the case of an accident. We don't have that. Worse case? Flip flops, shorts, no helmet. Maybe no shirt at all...
If you use it in its current state it is still a better helmet than a $50 one or one you don't put on at all. Just accept whatever choice you make and ride in your comfort zone.
If you are going to have that doubt in the back of your mind when you ride it may be a slight destraction you don't need. Your choice in the end...
Jan 6th 2018, 02:10 PM   #15
 Sentinel's Avatar
 
  Jun 2016
  Poor Tortured

  2015 Kawasaki Concours 14 - The Origame Sea-Dragon
It used to be that a "helmet" was called a "crash helmet."

Now we leave off the crash part.

But a helmet is more than a crash protector.

It is a windshield/airfoil, a sound isolation booth, a conspicuous marker of our presence, a comms device housing, and a fashion accessory.

Reasons to have a new/nice one are easy to come up with.
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles

Tags
helmet, opinions



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could this be your next helmet? Willow Motorcycles 16 Dec 8th 2017 08:01 AM
Considering this bike. Opinions? Sentinel Motorcycles 8 Jun 7th 2017 10:28 AM
Helmet age CRUX Tacoma-Puyallup 10 Aug 3rd 2016 09:35 PM
Dirt Bike Safety Training...reviews/opinions? Dr_E Adventure Riding 24 May 22nd 2016 05:41 PM
Looking for some opinions on how to finish a flip project Pavement Tested Motorcycles 51 Apr 24th 2016 10:54 PM




Copyright © 2018 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.