Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles

Motorcycles For topics and discussions about all motorcycle makes and models

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Red Label Moto
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Jun 5th 2017, 09:52 AM   #1
 Sentinel's Avatar
 
  Jun 2016
  Poor Tortured

  2015 Kawasaki Concours 14 - The Origame Sea-Dragon
Considering this bike. Opinions?

I am seriously considering this bike, and I thought I'd ask if there are any "R" owners or others who might want to talk me out of it, or to recommend it.

I know it's not fast, but it seems uber cool to me and is something I have never ridden before.

What say ye?

https://seattle.craigslist.org/see/mcy/6160502859.html

Jun 5th 2017, 10:37 AM   #2
 
  Jan 2016
  Oregon

  2017 Kaw Ninja 1000 ABS (Z1000SX)
Nice bike Tough call. Are you attracted to the blackout look?

I'd pass for various reasons... The 1150 motor was kind of transitional between the 1100 and the 1200... The 1200 is more of a sweet spot for BMW.

I'd try to scrape together the extra dough and get one of the R9T bikes, there are several. I think you'll be happier, and have better resale.

Me, I'm stuck with an all black 2001 R1100S. Turbocharged. Which I would also let go for about the same price.

But that's a story for another time.
Jun 5th 2017, 11:28 AM   #3
 WarpShatner7's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Here

  R1200ST, CB350
The fact that it's got the Ohlins on it already's a pretty good plus, assuming you like actually following the road and not getting kicked in the ass by anything taller than a tar snake. For the MSRP of one of these the stock suspension was a disgrace. Otherwise, it's hard to say; it's so far off standard and into the seller's own territory that if you're interested in learning about the Boxer experience you really won't be getting it here.

Personally I love the telelever setup for its total lack of surprises. Others don't feel that way. Decide what you like.

Test ride is essential: make sure it fits you, particularly hip to knee and ankle because if it doesn't all the fixes suck. If he won't let you put a mile or two on it walk away.
Jun 5th 2017, 12:56 PM   #4
 ChopperDr's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Buckley

  BMW R1100S '98 HD FXD 08 CBR600RR-track
I have a 2005 R1100S. It is heavy and under powered, still it's one of the favorite bikes I have owned. The front end takes some getting used to. Maintenance is simple.

If the styling lifts your skirt get on it. It looks well sorted. Price wise you can pick up a 1100s that is quite similar for quite a bit less, they seem to have bottomed out price wise.

Chop
Jun 5th 2017, 03:02 PM   #5
 wrecks's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  In the past.

I rode test rode a rockster before I bought the tiger. I would have bought it if it didn't have so many miles. It was a really smooth ride.
Jun 5th 2017, 05:42 PM   #6
 chadams66's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Garden Home

  2012 Versys...'83 BMW R80 RT...Suzuki GS 450t
as an owner of a '83 R80RT I'd say go for it..I would...I've looked at Rocksters as a replacement bike..but I haven't tired of the old beast yet...definitely not FAST..but she'll get up and scoot...in the hands of a good rider she won't get left behind on the twisties...price seems a little high..I'm sure the owner left room for negotiation...
Jun 5th 2017, 07:16 PM   #7
 Red Label Moto's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Seattle

  all of them
Almost certainly this bike has the servo assist power brakes. It's from that era of beemers. I would never own any BMW that has the servo assisted power brakes. What an absolutely horrifying system it is. No "feel" at the lever and makes a terrible noise when using it. If/when it breaks you're at the mercy of the dealer.

There is a reason that system was only used for a few model years before it very quietly went away.
ChopperDr likes this.
Jun 5th 2017, 07:18 PM   #8
 
  Jan 2016
  SE PDX

this one is nice

https://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/mcy/6161293906.html
Jun 7th 2017, 10:28 AM   #9
 
  Mar 2016
  Seattle

  '15 Grom, '08 BMW K12GT, '06 Honda CBR1000RR (Track), '14 KTM Duke 690
Great bike, I'd say a just bit overpriced for an '04, even with all the upgrades. $6K is a reasonable offer. But WAY more of a bike than even the top-shelf R9T, for less than half the price.

One of the last oilheads, surge issues are pretty much non-existent by that year. Bullet proof engine. 11K miles? Not even broken in. I'd look carefully for issues related to not being ridden enough.

How old are the tires, make sure the crown bearing doesn't allow any significant rear wheel movement, no ratcheting when you hand-rotate the real wheel when in neutral.

I disagree with Kie here. Servo brakes: I've a couple bikes with them. Sound is annoying until you get used to it, otherwise I've never had any issues.

Some say that BMW front ends lack feel, due to the suspension and servo brakes. I disagree. Feel is there, just more subtle than a typical front end. Once you're at-one with the bike, one of the best front ends in the biz, even before the Ohlins.

If you've never had an older beemer: Turn signals, single-plate dry clutch, weird front suspension. Some things to get used to.

But put a little screen on it and you've got an all-day cruise missile and a great bike for town with tons of torque and a low COG. Boxers get great MPG compared to other liter+ bikes.
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Motorcycles

Tags
bike, opinions



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dirt Bike Safety Training...reviews/opinions? Dr_E Adventure Riding 24 May 22nd 2016 05:41 PM
Looking for some opinions on how to finish a flip project Pavement Tested Motorcycles 51 Apr 24th 2016 10:54 PM




Copyright © 2018 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.