Instagram     

Go Back   PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Mechanical and Technical

Mechanical and Technical Mechanical and technical topics, help, and discussions

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Alpine 318is
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Oct 22nd 2019, 02:30 PM   #1
 
  May 2016
  Milwaukie, OR

  2016 ZX-10R; 2017 Z900
Opinions on rebuild

Greetings, All:

So, due to a stupid error I made at the track in August, I'm now starting to put my ZX-10R back into shape. [Had 2 broken ribs & clavicle surgery from which to heal].

If it were yours, would you put it back into street & track form, or just track?

After taking it apart on Sunday to see the full extent of damage, I need to replace plastics on the nose & tail, and the undertray. The rear rim is also bent. I have ordered a few parts, which should start arriving shortly.

I'd need to get a new rear light, and new headlights [the entire dish/tabs broken] to make it street-able.

Left side is untouched/no damage at all. Right side, front & rear took most of the damage. No mechanical problems that I can see, and no leaks. Bike starts and runs without issue.

Also, what are good sources for parts, especially bodywork and the rear rim? Ebay I know, and I bought a couple of OEM parts & bolts from Babbitts.

Thanks in advance,

Syringe
Oct 22nd 2019, 03:04 PM   #2
 Alpine 318is's Avatar
 
  Jun 2016
  Kirkland, WA

  2011 Triumph Daytona 675 Track
It really depends on how much time effort and money you want to put into track riding.
MV Man likes this.
Oct 22nd 2019, 03:16 PM   #3
 ZXtasy's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Moses Lake, WA

  2013 Kawasaki Concours C-14, 2005 ZX-10R Kawasaki (Nekkid), '99 Yamaha TW-200
Streetfighter that bish!! Have all the power and performance (less aero), but also less weight. Inexpensive lighting is available to make it both street legal and a track worthy bike with much less stuff to get banged up if you go down again.
Oct 22nd 2019, 04:13 PM   #4
 Tripledij's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Custer WA

  Aprilia Tuono 1100
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZXtasy
Have all the power and performance (less aero),

And because of the less aero, you can run shorter gearing.

Shorter gearing = more


Oct 22nd 2019, 05:12 PM   #5
 Pavement Tested's Avatar
 
  Jan 2016
  Seabeck

  '08 GSX1300R, '06 GSX-R 750, '17 KTM 690 Duke
Things to think about. Is the frame damaged at all? Even scratched the tiniest bit. Is it paid for? Do you want to keep riding on the street? Would you entertain getting a second bike for street duty?

Usually the most expensive part of a low side, which it seems is what you had, is replacing the OEM fairings and lights which I'm sure you're finding. If you're looking to go back to OEM and are having difficulty finding decent used parts on Ebay etc take a look at motosport.com. I used them to repair a bike in the past as their prices aren't too bad as far as OEM goes. I had insurance money at my disposal tho.

An alternative could be a full set of aftermarket fairings. It can be a crap shoot to find a quality set because the Chinese manufacturers have a wide variance in fitment and I've found the ABS they use isnt as flexible as OEM. Your bike is popular enough that there is probably a good variety of places to find full sets for less than just the OEM stuff you need.

Of course if you're looking at riding less on the street or maybe are thinking about a second bike then a set of track fairings might be the way to go and just work at making it a track only bike. That can be as or more expensive if you're gonna go full track and get into suspension, rearsets, fancy painted fairings etc.
Oct 22nd 2019, 06:30 PM   #6
 cgt1229's Avatar
 
  Feb 2016
  Bellingham

  Suzuki
Appears you have 2 bikes.

U had an incident on the 10, why bother worrying about "street legal stuff" again if you plan to do another trackday on it in the future?

If the other bike is available for the street then why stress about the 10?
Seems the street parts needed would become available eventually and no panic would be necessary.

I think a ZX-10 would be under utilized on the street and the bike itself would be upset with the rider "touring on it".
Oct 22nd 2019, 10:40 PM   #7
 MV Man's Avatar
 
  Sep 2019
  Portlandia, by way of Maui

  MV Agusta F3 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pavement Tested
Things to think about. Is the frame damaged at all? Even scratched the tiniest bit?
EXCELLENT question.
Oct 23rd 2019, 12:59 PM   #8
 
  May 2016
  Milwaukie, OR

  2016 ZX-10R; 2017 Z900
Thanks for all the replies!

I don't see any frame damage at all - frame slider and bar end did the job there, and not a nick that I can see.

I do a fair number of track days each year, and street rides as well. Despite being underutilized from a performance perspective, it's sure a fun bike on the street. No lack of passing acceleration, excellent handling, wind protection really pretty good, very smooth engine....

But, I have a Z900 that pretty much ticks those boxes aside from wind protection.

Having a "track only" bike has in the past seemed slightly a waste to me, as the bike is turned into a one-trick pony, but is starting to make a lot of sense in this instance. Lights, etc. are quite expensive, and this bike will go back to the track....
Oct 23rd 2019, 06:10 PM   #9
 ducdiver's Avatar
 
  Jul 2016
  victoria

Saving money on replacing lights and other street stuff can put more money in your pocket for track fees and sticky rubber.
Reply

  PNW Moto > PNW Moto > Mechanical and Technical

Tags
opinions, rebuild


« O4 Gsxr Ignition | - »

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
helmet opinions Nicegy525 Motorcycles 19 Jan 11th 2018 02:05 PM
Considering this bike. Opinions? Sentinel Motorcycles 8 Jun 7th 2017 10:28 AM
Shock rebuild Tombraider2 Mechanical and Technical 6 Sep 12th 2016 02:40 PM
Dirt Bike Safety Training...reviews/opinions? Dr_E Adventure Riding 24 May 22nd 2016 05:41 PM
Looking for some opinions on how to finish a flip project Pavement Tested Motorcycles 51 Apr 24th 2016 10:54 PM




Copyright © 2019 PNW Moto. All rights reserved.